cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
About the Author
Marcela is the CEO and founder of holacode. She loves to hack things, especially social justice. At holacode, she seeks to make technology more accessible and at the same time foster successful integration strategies for migrant communities. She believes in the power of technology to bring about positive social change. Marcela is a self-taught developers, she holds a Master's Degree in Social Development from University College London (UCL).

From Migration Crisis to Talent Development Opportunity

New Member - Level 1
0 0 438

I would like to think that where other people see problems, I see opportunities.

Take the growing migration crisis, for example. Conflict and climate change are forcing people around the world to leave their homes in search of better lives. In my country, Mexico, young people are returning or being deported from the United States, and may not speak fluent Spanish or even know the extended family members they end up living with back in Mexico.

Or, take the problem of talent shortage in the tech industry. Tech companies, especially those outside the United States, are desperate to find people with programming skills. There simply aren’t enough qualified candidates with the right education, and the problem is projected to get worse.

Both of these issues could be seen as problems, but what if we looked at them differently?

Many migrants are young, of working age, and looking for employment opportunities. They want to expand their talents and grow their skills – they have ambitious dreams. When I look at this demographic, I see the incredible potential of this human capital and talent.

And so, three years ago, because I knew how badly tech companies in Mexico City needed programmers and I knew how badly recently deported young people needed jobs, I created Hola<code/>.