cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Start Finishing Your Most Important Projects

0 0 1,716

As entrepreneurs, as business owners, and as people, distractions and interruptions get in the way of doing our best work every single day.

There are fires to be put out, emails to be answered, and dozens of other obligations to be managed in our business and personal lives. At the end of the day, it’s far too easy to have gone another workday just skimming along the surface instead of diving deep into the work that makes us thrive.

Showing up and pushing important work through to completion is hard.

As a coach, I have the privilege of seeing the to-do lists of a lot of entrepreneurs and leaders. I’ve noticed a trend: many of the items on those to-do lists don’t actually tie into the things that matter most to people. And the ones that do? They stay on that to-do list week after week.

Doing your best work – and finishing your projects – is what creates value and revenue in your business. It’s what creates meaning in your life.

Are you ready to start finishing? It requires a few mindset shifts.

Rethink your priorities

As a business owner or entrepreneur, you should have the freedom to do the work that matters most, right? But there’s a problem. Along with the demands of running a business comes outside pressures that can pull you away from your best work.

On one hand, it can feel selfish to block out distractions when your employees, customers, and family are asking things of you. On the other, market demands and outside expectations can clash with your strategic vision.

It’s like Henry Ford said, “If I asked people what they wanted, they would’ve said they wanted faster horses.” Instead of letting his priorities be set by other people’s imaginations, he went about solving people’s transportation problem with his own version of success: the Ford Model T.