cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jojeejoseph
Occasional Member - Level 2

Cognos expense report excluding transaction where there is no data in children nodes

Hello Cognos experts,

Cognos beginner here 🙂

I am trying to create a Cognos report for Concur Expense transactions.
Some of the transaction in the report are domestic, and contains GST Code - [Expense].[Expense Tax].[Reclaim Code].
However, GST doesn't apply to some overseas transaction in the report.
My report runs fine, with most of the Data Items coming from [Expense].[Commonly Used Fields].xx and [Expense].[Entry Information].xx. Report at this stage shows all transactions irrespective of whether GST applies or not.
As soon as I add GST field [Expense].[Expense Tax].[Reclaim Code] to the Data Items, the report excludes overseas transactions where GST doesn't apply.
What I would like to see is report still displaying all transaction - showing the GST code where GST applies and showing 'None' for transactions where GST doesn't apply. Is this possbile? What are my options?

2 Solutions
Solution
KevinD
Community Manager
Community Manager

@jojeejoseph two other options are to create a Master Detail report or a repeater table. My Reporting contacts would suggest a repeater table. I am not quite sure how to do this. In my opinion, the Master Detail is a little easier to create.

Here is a link to our training manual: Cognos Reporting Training Manual. If you do a search for Master Detail, you will see an example of how to build this type of report. The example in the manual is not based on GST, but it should give you a pretty good idea of how to build the report.

You will also see an example of building a Join report. These are a bit more complicated, but will give the same result.

Thank you,
Kevin Dorsey
SAP Concur Community Manager
Did this response answer your question? Be sure to select “Accept as Solution” so your fellow community members can be helped by it as well.