cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rmconners
Occasional Member - Level 3

Alcohol - would you approve this?

Hi,

I'm a relative Newbie on this board and I work for a small biotech company.   Client entertainment meals are key to our business so there's no formal restrictions regarding alcohol.   I'm running into a grey area where a group of field technicians who travel constantly have elected to purchase food for meals at a grocery store, along with wine and/or liquor, and eat in their hotel room.   They see it as a choice not to dine out at a restaurant.      I don't feel that purchasing bottles of wine represents the company well and there's a whole potential host of issues that could result from reimbursing employees for bottles of alcohol.     I'm curious if there are other companies that have what I consider, a loose alcohol policy.   Management will not impose restrictions around alcohol in the policy because they acknowledge it's part of client entertainment.      Thoughts?

3 REPLIES 3
DeanR
Frequent Member - Level 1

That is indeed an interesting situation.

Our expense policy treats alcohol as part of client entertainment separately to meals while travelling.  For meals it is limited to one drink with dinner.

In your situation I have some sympathy for regular travellers that don't want to eat out all of the time.  I would look at the volume of alcohol and the frequency - if they're staying in the same place for a few nights and buy one bottle of wine, I'd let it slide; if it's a bottle per day then I'd be looking at restrictions through policy and also  be concerned about their health.

KevinD
Community Manager
Community Manager