cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leadership Tweaks for Greater Influence

0 0 907

Yes, you are a Leader! I’m not talking about your position within the company you own or department you Lead. I’m referring to how you show up every day as a person of influence. Whether you like it or not, your name comes up in conversation while you’re not around. You cannot control this, but you can control what’s being said about you by getting dialed in on how you influence.

Early in my professional career, I led with force and intimidation. Having spent the eight years prior in the military, then on the streets as a Police Officer, I had to understand one thing… “What got me here, won’t get me there.” How we influence people, determines how long and how effective we are as Leaders. A primary goal of many who lead is to be respected by those they influence. Gaining RESPECT of your peers and/or direct reports takes time.

Here’s an exercise I would like you to consider implementing. Write down the top five characteristics of a person you want on your team. Once you’ve written these 5-character traits down take a look at them and say to yourself, “I attract who I am, not what I want.”

Early in my career, I completed this same exercise. One of the character traits I wrote down was, Good Listener. Go figure, right!!! Considering I was a K9 Handler during my military career, this came as no surprise. What was a surprise was that I was the worse listener known to man. I realized I was expecting my peers and employees to obey my command. You’re probably thinking, “This is horrible leadership!” You are absolutely correct, it was. In order for anyone to listen to me, I had to first listen to him or her with intention.